Techno-Orgy

Today, after 5 days without internet access or cable tv in Bowling Green prior to the move and 8 days unconnected in Storm Lake after the move, a very nice man came to my new home and reattached me to the grid. I don’t know the nice man’s name, but I do know that he has a 9-year-old lab/collie mix named Trapper and a lab/border collie puppy named Peanut, and that both dogs are more lab than collie, and I know this because I followed him around the apartment and chatted as he worked because I live alone and I must get human contact how and when I can.*

And speaking of human contact, my nephew Michael drove up from Peabody, Kansas,** to help me retrieve my stuff from the ABF terminal in Sioux City and bring it back to my empty and unconnected apartment. He came despite the fact that his car malfunctioned early in the drive and he had to have it towed and then use his mom’s car (Hi Linda!), thus getting a late start and driving into the wee hours, his loins girded with nothing but Dr. Pepper and convenience store burritos,*** which shows how very much he loves his aunt Inez and NOT how boring life in Peabody, Kansas, can be. Really.

After loading my furniture and more boxes of books than I remember packing into a rental truck in Sioux City and then unloading it all into the apartment in Storm Lake and not once pointing out my arbitrary and extremely unequal division of labor,**** Michael showed hidden depths as an exterminator, going mano-a-little blood-slurping nose thingees with the swarm of mosquitos that sneaked into the house while we transported furniture and books (and books). It was beautiful to watch — Michael moving with the deadly grace of a true warrior, the slaps of his terry dishtowel and the panicked buzz of mosquitos faced with their own mortality sounding as a martial air that lacked only a single, lonely bugle.

Bagpipes would have been good too.

See the pics — Mosquito Mike and His Dishcloth of Death.Mike1

Mike2

Back to the techo-orgy: After 20 minutes of cable tv, I rediscovered that there is nothing on.***** And after plowing through 139 emails, only 11 of which were personal messages actually meant for me and not some cyber-resident, I caught up on my online cartoons, newssites, and blogs. That took an hour. Then I turned everything off and went to lunch, transfered my auto insurance, took a nap, and read a novel. But in the back of my mind, all warm and digital, I knew I was connected. Yeah.

*I haven’t started giving my life history to telemarketers. Yet.

**Thus foregoing his chance to buy a SELF-DRAINING HOSE BIBB TYPE BACKFLOW PREVENTER NOW AVAILABLE IN THE CITY OFFICES FOR $1.00.

***And, we hope, clean underwear.

****I carried everything that 1) weighed less than 10 lbs. and 2) that I felt like lifting and 3) that didn’t have to be carried upstairs.

*****Negative-nothing, if you count two (2!) Fox news channels.

One response »

  1. I’m surprised you didn’t mention how the little bastard was always craning its neck towards me whenever I got near, even if I was just walking by. Or how we joked about the townsfolk getting the wrong idea about our relationship, aunt/nephew, while we were out eating at restaurants. And how you were actually asked within a few weeks about ‘What happened to that nice young man who was with you?’

Leave a Reply

