An excuse to watch tv…

Scroll down the page, looking at the yellow sidebar to the right.  See that little face that looks like it was made out of 2 blueberries, a couple of unbaked biscuits and some frighteningly pink sausage? Well, it’s really made out of yarn (in which case it’s kinda cute) and it denotes my membership in a knitters’ webring. So hey, maybe I should include some knitting content in this, my blog?*

Lately, I’ve been working on a vest (for me), some xmas-gift scarves, and a shawl that was a sweater until I pulled the needles out to use on another project and then couldn’t figure out what needle size I’d been using and so ripped the whole front of the sweater out and couldn’t bring myself to cast it on again and hence, a shawl.  Not that I need a shawl, but I didn’t really need the sweater, either.

Here are the scarves (click on pic to enlarge): Bluescarf

Rosescarf They are half-double crochet*** across 12 stitches with a Q hook, using Lionbrand boucle and Paton’s Twister. I think the two together give a very rich and deep colorway. The same thing can be knit in garter stitch using size 17 needles over 10 stitches, which is how I made the purple scarf for my sister Linda.Scarf_1 Either way, the scarves are very quick and easy and yield a nice finished product.

NOTE:If you are a woman with whom I usually exchange Christmas presents and you live in the Reno area,**** please forget you saw these scarves.  Even more importantly, please forget the bit about them being easy and quick to make.  I labored over these lovely, unique creations just for you; each row was an offering of love, each stitch an blessing of friendship.  Really.

The vest, of which I have completed the left front panel, is made using this pattern, from the Just One More Row company, in Manos Del Uruguay, which is just about the most gorgeous yarn on the planet. The vest is lots of fun to work on because each square begins as a straight line of stitches. By decreasing at the center stitch every other row, the line draws up into a V and the center stitches are filled in.  This seems very magical to me every time it happens, which shows how easy I am to entertain.*****

Here are pics of the vest front and a closeup of the squares: Vestfront

Vestdetail

*That’s a rhetorical question, which is okay because I’m card-carrying rhetorician.**

**Well, not card-carrying, exactly. But I’ll get the diploma some time this fall.

***Knit, crochet, Coke, Pepsi, whatever.

****Unless you are Jennifer, who already informed me that she never, ever wears a scarf. Jennifer, these scarves are quite nice, but they were also SO easy to make!

*****Which explains Zeke’s continued and regal existence.

2 responses »

  1. “NOTE:If you are a woman with whom I usually exchange Christmas presents and you live in the Reno area,**** please forget you saw these scarves. Even more importantly, please forget the bit about them being easy and quick to make. I labored over these lovely, unique creations just for you; each row was an offering of love, each stitch an blessing of friendship. Really.”

    I’m willing to forget. Don’t you have a birthday coming up? What can I *labor* over. I wanted to get you a gift certificate for yarn but you moved away from everything having to do with civilization, Micahel’s and B Franklin’s. Furthermore, you’re right, I don’t wear scarves, becaue 1. I work out and I’m therefore warm and wear shorts in December (or maybe that’s ‘mad,’ not ‘warm’) and 2. I’m just a little tiny bit clumbsy and tend to bondage-ize myself if wearing anything trailing. That,or it shuts in a door and strangles me. Or collects cats…

    Not that I thought you were talking about me. That’s not at all why I’m posting anonymously.

Leave a Reply

