Sell out…

You may have noticed the Google and Firefox advertisements added to the new lefthand column of Left of the Mississippi. If you didn’t notice them, SHEESH! They’re right there, big as anything, like a new WalMart sprung up overnight in a residential neighborhood. And really, just about as ugly.

I do have to say, I was hoping the ads in the orange column would be for something more exciting than yarn. Google adsense says they troll the site for keywords to determine ads that match content. Here at Left of the Mississippi, we’ve talked about barfing!, parrots!, the murdering of bank call-center personnel! Geez, you think that one alone would have brought up an ad for a lumber store.

If you hate the idea of ads following you even unto the ramblings of a middle-aged academic, well, I’m sorry. But I thought I’d give it a try since, being a middle-aged academic, my disposable income is just about nil. If I earn enough in a year to pay for this site (about $80), I’ll be freaking ecstatic. In contrast, if I only earn enough for a Snickers bar, I’ll buy the bar and remove the ads. So we’ll just have to see.

Leave a Reply

