A cat is a cat is a cat is a hog

Back in the, to Astrid Kitty’s mind, blissful past before Zeke Quaker and Amelia Kitty came to live with us, Astrid had a big pillow to sleep on, on my computer desk. As I toiled away in the wee hours on grad school projects,* Astrid slept peacefully and received the occasional ear rub. As Amelia has grown and become more pushy, however, Astrid has been crowded out of her computer table bed.

So I bought a small dog bed instead, figuring that a bigger bed would allow them both to sleep in companionable comfort as I work on important, college professor projects.** Alas, despite my excess of education and 20 years of cat ownership,*** I neglected one constant of cat physics: a cat can expand to fill all available space.

See? Here’s Amelia, smack-dab in the middle of the more-than-big-enough-for-two new cat bed, selfishly sawing logs (click to enlarge. You’ll thank me):

Amelia1Amelia2
Amelia3

And here’s Astrid, relegated to the back of the futon. Look at that expression:
Astrid

However, after 2 weeks, I’m happy to announce that computer desk detente has been achieved:
Together

NOW I can shop for a new computer game. I mean, research project…..

*Doom, Doom II, Doom III, Diablo, Diablo II….

**Bookworm, Zuma, Tumblebugs….

***Romeo, the Cary Grantesque tuxedo cat, Paisley, the very fat lap cat, Herkimer, the sleek black spazz, Jane Austen, the grumpy torti, Drake, the fluffy black kitten, Hudson, the brave tabby kitten, Lilith, the fluffy, three-legged legend, and Mab, the sweet air-headed tabby. All but Mab and Jane (both of whom live with my ex) have passed away. All but Mab were rescues.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

