“Why, Ides oughtta….”

Get it? Ides? March 15?

Not funny? Well then, you see why I haven’t been posting lately.

Last Friday, 3/6, I noticed that thickness in the throat that presages a head cold. No big deal, I thought, a little spring cold….and then I spent Saturday and Sunday flat on my back, completely wiped out with the stuffy and the runny and the achy and the sleepy and the (and here we can see just how gravely ill I was*) no appetite. Other than zombie-ing my way to the grocery store both days for juice and meds and Kleenex and more juice and meds and Kleenex,** I accomplished nothing. Monday I dragged myself to work and taught two incoherent classes and then went home and collapsed again. By Wednesday I was feeling  a little better and by Thursday much better, and that’s when the grading frenzy started.

Speaking of zombies, I did take a break from the grading to watch Fido, which I can’t even begin to describe at 10:16 p.m. after a full day of laundry and grading, but I recommend it to anyone who feels Ozzie and Harriet would have benefited from more severed limbs and  hints of necrophilia.

*I can always eat. Slip a sandwich*** into the coffin and I’ll eat at my own funeral.

**When I’m ill is when I really hate being single. Unfortunately, being a mere juice-meds-Kleenex conveyor is probably not what most men are looking for in a relationship.

***and a napkin. I may be dead, but I’m not untidy.

2 responses »

  1. “Unfortunately, being a mere juice-meds-Kleenex conveyor is probably not what most men are looking for in a relationship.”

    Well, they’re also pretty handy for getting the dead mouse out of the trap in the basement . . . .

  2. >Slip a sandwich*** into the coffin and I’ll eat at my own funeral.

    You got it! Mark & I’ll also toss in some chocolate-chip cookies and a bottle of Guinness.

Leave a Reply

