Zeke: The bird, the artist

My Artist Statement

by Zeke Quaker

I feel the true purpose of art is to explore the meta-dynamics of the connection between the avian psyche and the post-post-modern world. I strive to create a neo-Marxist dialectic in which my cage both symbolizes the oppression of the parrotariat and expresses the inherent possibilities and fluid interpretation of “seizing the means of production.” I find forks (empty of food and therefore of meaning) and adding machine tape (which, in its unprinted whiteness, illustrates the inevitable death of/by commerce) to be the most appropriate media for my message. The random plopping of bird shit reminds viewers of the ever-present threat of the bourgeoisie. Plus, it adds color.

We got your "festoon" right here

We got your "festoon" right here

Modern sculpture -- I makes it

Modern sculpture -- I makes it

I call this "cascading profits"

I call this "cascading prophets"

The real question is, how come all this building never attracts me a mate?

The real question is, how come all this building never attracts me a mate?

2 responses »

  1. Did this parrot take a “writing b.s. seminar” from someone at BVU? Because the style, tone, and voice seem oddly familiar. On the artistic front, however, this bird is clearly a genius. His collected works will probably skyrocket in value after he drops dead on the cage floor. You are collecting and cataloging them, right?

Leave a Reply

