Finally a post….sort of

I’m not sure if my blog is dead or not. I haven’t posted since July and posts had slowed down appreciably before that. And I’m only on here now so I can post pics of Mim at 6 months old. But I’m keeping the blog site open for now, because you never know. I’m doing a lot of crochet, and I discovered a new way to seam up motifs like granny squares and, while most folks won’t care, crocheters will care a lot. The two people I’ve taught it to feel it’s right up there with the discovery of penicillin and the invention of indoor plumbing. Heck, I may even take some good pics, write it up, and submit it to a crochet magazine for cashola, but if not, I’ll post it here. In other news, tomorrow I start teaching an online class for the first time ever, a creative writing course I designed for online use over the summer. And I’m looking forward to teaching it, but that’ll be one more course (and grading!) on top of my normal load and online, you can’t get behind on grading and then bring the students treats or let them out early to secure their goodwill. I’ll have to be punctual. Oh boy.

Other than that, I bought an Ipod Touch to replace my beloved but dying Samsung mp3 player (it still makes a good auxiliary alarm clock, though). I’ve been working all these extra jobs to get large amounts of $$ to pay off debt, and I find it’s a good idea to buy myself one treat each time, so I don’t react to deprivation and overwork by suddenly splurging. Anyway, I love the Touch and I actually sent and received text messages for the first time. This 21st century technology breakthrough shows that my aversion to texting was less about typing inconsequential messages with my thumbs and more about my refusal to pay to do so, as one can text for free with an Ipod.

And now, here’s what you really wanted to see: Mim at 6 months. Still demoniacally playful, although I caught her in a period of rest between attacking Jasper, attacking Astrid, and attacking Violet:

Spotty but cute

That is NOT a furry snake creeping up behind me.

4 responses »

  1. I always love to read your posts, Inez. There’s never any doubt that I’ll more than likely be smiling or chuckling by the end of it.

    I was just wondering about you the other day…trying to remember if I knew just what it was that you were teaching these days… Do you teach English 101 or 102? Or is it something else? Just kind of curious.

    We were talking about you tonight with Kurt’s mom…I guess she’s going to be visiting Alexis in Waterloo sometime in the future sometime, and wanted to know how far from there you lived. Haha. Needless to say…everyone out West here loves you and misses you. I still think you should move back to Reno! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I definitely want the crochet invention to piece motifs together!! The biggest reason I don’t use my scrap yarn to make grannies is the damned putting it together!!

    Your family is growing…..

  3. Hello! just got a reminder of your blog via the response to a post where I had responded to a blog of yours ~

    Anyway, that was 2009, and I think your blog page was fm 2007…. how are you? i find myself now facilitating first day school, who knew?! Life is so unpredictable, so funny ๐Ÿ™‚ I like your description of response to your latest itch

Leave a Reply

